President's Cup


Olson brothers take 2 of the 3 classes, and Mock wins in a unique way

Facebook photo album available HERE

YouTube playlist available HERE

For the first time in several years, R/CU returned to a renovated Fort Steillacoom park to Waughop Lake for the President's Cup. Held on a beautiful 85 degree Father's Day, it was R/CU's second consecutive trip to the westside. Gone were the crumbled old path, gone was the overgrown brush. The pits was a beautiful grass area, with perfect paved walking trails to provide plenty of vantage points for the interested race fans.

The field was small for 2021 standards, but we still had 32 boats entered in four classes. With some usual contenders skipping this race, it was wide open for a coveted R/CU victory!


1/10th Scale Electric Final

1st: 1961 Miss Supertest, Brad Lewis

2nd: 1971 Budweiser Malt Liquor, Dylan Hirano

DNF: 1970 Miss Budweiser, Mason Dunn

It was a three boat final, with Brad Lewis taking on the two young guns. Mason flipped with the Budweiser, therefore it was Dylan's job to take the fight to the veteran. He gave it a good run, but in the end it was Brad with the Supertest who emerged victorious.

Gas Scale Final

1st: 1971 Country Boy, John Olson

2nd: 1982 Executone, Henry Oord

DNF (3rd): 1977 Atlas Van Lines, Jim Whyte

DNF (4th): 1978 Miss Circus Circus, Brandon Sano

DNS: 1985 Coor's Light, Jeff Griffin

John Olson has been banging on the door all season long with his new Country Boy, but this time he finally got the answer. He snagged lane one and never looked back, taking his first victory of the season. Jim Whyte appeared to have second locked up with the Atlas suddenly stopped, allowing Henry Oord and the Executone to take the runner-up spot.

1/8th Scale Electric (FE) Final

1st: 1985 Miller American, Don Mock

2nd: 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Paxton Reunanen

3rd: 1981 Captran Resorts, Jason Colean

4th: 2003 Llumar Window Film, Ron Daum

5th: 1976 Spirit of Dayton Walther, Brad Lewis

6th (DNF): 1982 Gilmore Special, Bobby Colean

7th (DSQ): 1983 Miss Houston, Henry Oord

After a muddled milling period, Brad Lewis appeared to grab the early lead but was called for jumping the gun. This handed the lead to Don Mock, who also overtook the Dayton Walther and avoided some carnage in the right turn to claim the victory. Despite Don's long history in R/CU, this was the first time ever Don had not entered an Atlas Van Lines in the race, and his first victory with a non-Atlas boat! Paxton Reunanen came up from the trailer position to take second with the Miss Rock, and Jason Colean capped a solid day to finish third with the Captran.

1/8th Scale Nitro Consolation

1st: 1983 Miss Renault, Joey Caines

2nd: 1983 Miss Houston, Steve Roman

3rd (DNS): 1994 Miss Budweiser (T-4), Paxton Reunanen

With the Budweiser coming down with mechanical gremlins, it was a 2 boat duel between Joey and Steve. The Houston was early at the start and took a second to respond to the throttle, while the Renault nailed the start on the inside. Unfortunately for Steve, that advantage was just what Joey wanted, and he took the Renault into the final.

1/8th Scale Nitro Final

1st: Pride of Pay'n Pak, Fred Olson

2nd: 2003 Llumar Window Films, Paul Jackson

3rd: 1991 The Edge/Hunan Harbor, Jeff Griffin

4th: 2011 Lakeridge Paving, Gary Grembowski

5th: 1971 Country Boy, John Olson

DNS: 1983 Miss Renault, Joey Caines

DNS: 1979 Miss Circus Circus, Geoffry Grembowski

The final took a step back when both the Renault and Circus Circus failed to get off the beach, but nonetheless 5 veterans of R/CU were set to do battle. John Olson with the Country Boy led them across the line, but it was a little too much...the Country Boy was called for jumping the gun. That handed the lead to his brother Fred with the Pay'n Pak, and the 2019 Driver's Champion did not look back. The Pak picked up Fred's first victory of the year, with Paul Jackson and Jeff Griffin rounding out the podium.


June 20


Location: Waughop Lake, Lakewood, WA


Contest Directors: Rich Matkin 


Previous Race Winners

Race held in Lake Waughop, Tacoma, WA 1997-2012, 2021-Present

Race held in Twin Lakes Park, Marysville, WA 2017-2019

Race held in Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park, Ellensburg, WA 2013-2016

Race held in Friday Harbor, WA 1990-1992


-2021: Fred Olson (1970 Pride of Pay'n Pak) [nitro], Don Mock (1985 Miller American) [FE], and John Olson (1971 Country Boy) [gas]

Previous to 2020, no gas class run

-2020: Race cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic

-2019: John Olson (1971 Country Boy) [nitro] and David Newton (1993 Miss Budweiser T-3) [FE]

-2018: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) [nitro] and Rob Brackett (2011 Valken Sports) [FE]

-2017: Dave Brandt (1978 Squire Shop U-64) [nitro] and Chuck Murray (1977 Miss Tri-Cities Mark and Pak) [FE]

-2016: Dave Brandt (1997 Pico American Dream) and Jim Brittain (1986 Mr. Pringle's) [FE]

-2015: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire) [nitro] and Rob Brackett (2008 [FE]

-2014: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) [nitro] and Dave Brandt (2008 Miss Elam Plus) [FE}

-2013: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire), no FE winner


Previous to 2013, no FE class run

-2012: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire)

-2011: Bill Brandt (1972 Notre Dame)

-2010: Kirk Maupin (1975 Atlas Van Lines)

-2009: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2008: Steve Schmitz (1985 Squire Shop)

-2007: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2006: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2005: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2004: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2003: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2002: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2001: Dave Brandt (1978 Squire Shop)

-2000: Lee Robertson (1995 Pico American Dream)

-1999: David Jensen (1969 Pride of Pay 'N Pak)

-1998: Jesse Robertson (1989 Miss Circus Circus)

-1997: Jesse Robertson (1989 Miss Circus Circus)

-1996: Race not held

-1995: Race not held

-1994: Race not held

-1993: Race not held

-1992: Ron Davis (1988 Miss Circus Circus)

-1991: Brad Lewis (1976 Olympia Beer)

-1990: Ron Davis (1988 Miss Circus Circus)