top of page

Bill Muncey Memorial

Winds pick up and cause a little chaos in Ellensburg

Photo album available HERE

For the first time in 2023, the Meyers Autotech Championship Series Powered by Rattlesnake RC returned to central Washington for the first race at Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park in Ellensburg, WA. While the test day on Saturday was sunny and calm, Sunday was forecasted to have afternoon winds. Sure enough, by about lunchtime on Sunday, as the preliminary races were being run, the winds picked up. It made the racecourse a little bumpy, and drivers were going to have to be smart as the finals approached on Sunday afternoon.

1/10th Scale Electric Final

1/10th Scale Electric Final
1st: 1976 Miss U.S., Brooklyn Kinney
2nd: 2016 Miss Homestreet Bank, KC Andres
3rd: 1963 Coe-Z-Miss, Aidyn Brandt
4th: 1976 Miss Budweiser, Bobby Colean
DNF: 1971 Pride of Pay'n Pak, Brent Edinger
DNS: 1962 Lumberville, Lexy Brandt

The 1/10th scale racers decided on a new format for this weekend, where the junior racers started 1/2 lap ahead of the veteran adults. But, with the breeze stiffening, anything could happen with the light boats. Brooklyn Kinney took the early lead and never looked back, making it 2-for-2023 with her Miss U.S. in taking the victory.

Gas Scale Final

No video available.

1st: 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Dave Brandt
2nd (DNF): 1987 Miller American, Mason Dunn
3rd (DNF): 1971 Country Boy, John Olson

4th (DNF): 1983 Miss Houston, Henry Oord
5th (DNF): 1977 Charlie's Girl, Mike Henriksen
6th (DNF): 1978 Miss Mark and Pak, Jim Whyte

The wind caused some havoc here, but it was Dave Brandt who came out clean to take another victory. Young rookie Mason Dunn piloted around all the debris but while his boat died on the last lap, he had passed enough boats to take a second place.

1/8th Scale Electric (FE) Consolation
No video available.

1st: 1973 Miss Budweiser, Bobby Colean
2nd: 1971 Hallmark Homes, Jim Brittain
3rd: 1968 Miss Bardahl, Randy Gosseen
4th: 1994 Smokin' Joe's, Conner Henriksen

The Smokin' Joe's jumped the gun barely at the start, and this handed the early lead to the Miss Budweiser with Bobby Colean. Jim Brittain gave chase with the Hallmark, but in the end it was Bobby who held on and advanced to the final.

1/8th Scale Electric (FE) Final
No video available.

1st: 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Paxton Reunanen
2nd: 1985 Miller American, Don Mock
3rd: 1975 Miss Technicolor, KC Andres
4th (DNF): 1982 Atlas Van Lines, Marc Connelly
5th (DNF): 1983 Miss Houston, Henry Oord
6th (DNF): 1976 Miss Esquire Products
7th (DSQ): 1973 Miss Budweiser, Bobby Colean

With the wind increasing, getting in front would be key as you could manage how hard to push into the rollers on the backstretch. Paxton Reunanen took the early lead with the Miss Rock and was able to pedal around and keep the boat safe. With the stiff breeze, any challengers quickly fell by the wayside and Paxton picked up his first win of the year.

1/8th Scale Nitro Consolation

No video available.

1st: 1978 Squire Shop U-65, Dave Brandt
2nd: 1981 KWWW, Jim Latimer
3rd: 2011 Lakeridge Paving, Gary Grembowski
4th (DNS): 1974 Red Man, Paul Jackson
5th (DNS): 1976 Olympia Beer, Steve Roman
6th (DNS): 1971 Country Boy, Clint Dunn

What looked like an intriguing race on paper fell slightly by the wayside as three boats failed to answer the call at the start. However, given the increasing wind, it was no guarantee and R/CU's winningest driver advanced to the final from his unfamiliar spot in the consolation.

1/8th Scale Nitro Final
No video available.

1st: 1976 Miss Vernors, Kirk Maupin
2nd: 1979 Miss Circus Circus, Geoffry Grembowski
3rd: 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Brittain
4th (DNF): 2007 Miss Beacon Plumbing, Adam Putich
5th (DNF): 1978 Squire Shop, Dave Brandt
6th (DNF): 1974 Miss U.S., Steven Kinney
7th (DNF): 1970 Pride of Pay'n Pak, Fred Olson

With a strong breeze, it was almost guaranteed that this race would be chaotic. Yet, for almost 4 laps, it strangely wasn't. Fred Olson and Kirk Maupin battled up front, daring the wind with their boats and holding a stiff pace. Adam Putich also held his customary lane one, and was refusing to go away. On the final lap, it all came to a head. The Miss U.S. and the Pride of Pay'n Pak tempted fate one too many times and flipped on the backstretch. Dave Brandt and the Squire Shop came charging hard from the trailer position and made a bonsai move in the final turn, taking the lead briefly but spinning directly into the path of the Beacon. A loud collision occurred, ending the day for both the Squire Shop and the Beacon. Kirk Maupin and the Vernor's avoided all of the trouble to take the win, with the Miss Circus Circus and Oh Boy! Oberto coming up from behind to finish on the podium.




April 29-30


Location: Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park, Ellensburg, WA


Previous Race Winners:

Race held in Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park, Ellensburg, WA 1997-present

Race held in Elma, WA 1990-1996

Race held in Kent, WA 1981-1989

Current-2020, winners shown as nitro // FE // gas

-2023: Kirk Maupin (1976 Miss Vernors) // Paxton Reunanen (1983 KISW Miss Rock) // Dave Brandt (1983 KISW Miss Rock)

-2022: Geoffry Grembowski (1979 Miss Circus Circus) // Jason Walters (1986 Mr. Pringle's) // Henry Oord (1983 Executone)

-2021: Race not held due to COVID-19 pandemic

-2020: Race not held due to COVID-19 pandemic


2019-2013, winners shown as nitro // FE

-2019: Scott Meyers (1987 Eliminator) // David Newton (1993 Miss Budweiser (T-3))

-2018: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) // Bill Brandt (1972 Notre Dame) 

-2017: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) // David Newton (1988 Miller High Life) 

-2016: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire) // Fred Stock (2008 II) 

-2015: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire) // David Newton (2012 Spirit of Qatar) 

-2014: John Olson (1976 Miss Vernors) // Rob Brackett (2008 

-2013: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire) // Rob Brackett (2011 

Prior to 2013, only nitro class run

-2012: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2011: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products)

-2010: Kirk Maupin (1975 Atlas Van Lines)

-2009: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2008: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2007: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2006: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2005: Bill Brandt (1993 Tide)

-2004: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2003: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2002: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2001: Jesse Robertson (1994 Miss Budweiser T-3)

-2000: Eric Akeson (1986 Frank Kenney Toyota)

-1999: Jesse Robertson (1999 Miss Circus Circus)

-1998: Dave Brandt (1978 Squire Shop)

-1997: Brad Lewis (1988 Miller High Life)

-1996: Rich Matkin (1966 Miss Bardahl)

-1995: John Earnest (1957 Gale VII)

-1994: Steve DeSteese (1984 Miss Renault)

-1993: Ron Davis (1984 Competition Specialties)

-1992: John Hruby (1978 Miss Circus Circus)

-1991: Norm Nordby (1984 Lite All Star)

-1990: Brad Lewis (1976 Olympia Beer)

-1989: Ron Davis (1988 Miss Circus Circus)

-1988: Ron Erickson (1983 American Speedy Printing)

-1987: David Jensen (1969 Pride of Pay 'N Pak)

-1986: David Jensen (1982 Gilmore Special)

-1985: Roger Newton (1980 Miss Budweiser)

-1984: Rick Barnes
-1983: Bill Smiley

-1982: Gale Whitestine (Tahoe Miss)

-1981: Gale Whitestine (Tahoe Miss)



bottom of page