Diamond Cup

Veterans show the way in Marysville

Saturday photo album available HERE

Sunday photo album available HERE

The 2021 season turned to the home stretch as R/CU visited Twin Lakes Park in western Washington for the Diamond Cup. Raceday dawned cool and misty, but out came a brilliant sunshine for the 40-plus boat field. By this point in the season, everyone has their boats running well, and R/CU was happy to welcome some new boats and racers into the club.

1/10th Scale FE Final

1st: 1971 Budweiser Malt Liquor, Dylan Hirano

2nd: 2013 Graham Trucking, Joey Caines

3rd: 1980 Squire Shop, Paxton Reunanen

4th (DNF): 1970 Miss Budweiser, Mason Dunn

The two modern boats had their own dual, while the 2 classic boats started up front. It was a tight battle all day between Mason and Dylan, but the Budweiser caught a gust and blew over. This sent Dylan Hirano into the lead, which he kept to capture his first victory in R/CU. As tradition dictates, he was thrown into the lake to celebrate his first victory.

Gas Scale Final

1st: 1971 Country Boy, John Olson

2nd (DNF): 1983 Miss Houston, Jim Curtis

3rd (DNF): 1985 Coor's Light, Jeff Griffin

4th (DNF): 1993 Miss Budweiser (T-3), Jeff Snell

5th (DNF): 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Dave Brandt

6th (DNS): 1977 Atlas Van Lines, Jim Whyte

The gas scale class had a tough stretch of reliability over the course of the race, and the final was no different. John Olson had paced the day with the Country Boy, and he continued to stretch his championship lead by being the only boat to finish in the final. Special shoutouts go to Jeff Snell with his beautiful new Miss Budweiser, and to R/CU rookies Donn Lange and Jim Curtis, who each debuted at this race.

1/8th Scale FE Consolation

1st: 1960 Miss Burien, John Gatjens

2nd (DNF): 1986 Mr. Pringle's, Jason Walters

3rd (DSQ): 1982 Gilmore Special, Bobby Colean

On the start, the Gilmore drifted into the lane occupied by the Pringles, causing the Pringles to flip and crash. This disqualified the Gilmore, and handed John Gatjens and the Miss Burien the victory. John advanced to the final as the trailer.

1/8th Scale FE Final

1st: 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Paxton Reunanen

2nd: 1972 Notre Dame, Bill Brandt

3rd: 1983 Atlas Van Lines, Rich Matkin

4th: 1985 Miller American, Don Mock

5th: 1982 Pay'n Pak, Bob Hulliger

6th (DNF): 1960 Miss Burien, John Gatjens

7th (DNF): 1982 Atlas Van Lines, Marc Connelly

The FE class shaped up to be competitive all the way through, and was a bit chaotic in the first lap as the Miller American spun in front of the field. Paxton and the Miss Rock avoided the boat and held the inside lane to take his 2nd victory (and 2nd straight) of the year. Bill Brandt and Rich Matkin rounded out the podium as they gave valiant chase.

1/8th Scale Nitro Second Consolation

1st: 1976 Olympia Beer, Greg Roth

2nd: 1974 Lincoln Thrift, Bill Brandt

3rd (DNF): 1982 Executone, Mike Cathey

4th (DNF): 1960 Miss Burien, John Gatjens

Greg Roth was running well all day with the Oly Beer boat, but a late mishap in the prelims knocked him back to the second connie. Nonetheless, he was able to take victory and move up to the first consolation heat.

1/8th Scale Nitro First Consolation

1st: 1983 Miss Renault, Joey Caines

2nd: 1971 Pride of Pay'n Pak, Brent Edinger

3rd: 2014 Spirit of Qatar, Jim Putich

4th: 2011 Superior Racing, Jeff Griffin

5th (DNF): 1976 Olympia Beer, Greg Roth

6th (DNF): 1971 Country Boy, John Olson

Some of the prerace favorites caught trouble during the heat, which left a fierce battle for the victory and transfer to the final. It was an intense battle for five laps, but Joey Caines ran the inside lane to hold off the rest of the field and take the win. 

1/8th Scale Nitro Final

1st: 1976 Miss Vernors, Kirk Maupin

2nd: 1966 Miss Bardahl, Fred Olson

3rd: 1979 Miss Circus Circus, Geoffry Grembowski

4th: 1983 Miss Renault, Joey Caines

5th (DNF): 1994 Pete's Wicked Ale, Paul Jackson

6th (DNF): 2001 Miss Emcor, Brian Anderson

7th (DNS): 1978 Squire Shop (U-64), Dave Brandt

With near-perfect conditions on a late afternoon final, Kirk Maupin took the outside line and continued to show that his speed kills, taking the victory (his fourth straight for the Diamond Cup) with the Vernors. Fred Olson had the Bardahl running well, but was unable to track "The Iceman" down. Geoffry Grembowski rounded out the podium with the Circus Circus.


August 28-29


Location: Twin Lakes Park, Marysville, WA


Contest Director: R/CU Board


Previous Race Winners

Race held in Twin Lakes Park, Marysville, WA 2021-Present

Race held in Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park, Ellensburg, WA 2012-2019

Race held in Hisey Park, Granger, WA 2009-2011

Race held in Rock Island, WA 2004-2008

Race held in Spokane River, Spokane, WA 1976-2003

-2021: Kirk Maupin (1976 Miss Vernors) [nitro], Paxton Reunanen (1983 KISW Miss Rock) [FE], John Olson (1971 Country Boy) [Gas]

-2020: Race cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic

-2019: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) [nitro] and Don Mock (1984 Atlas Van Lines) [FE]

-2018: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) [nitro] and Bill Brandt (1972 Notre Dame) [FE] 

-2017: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products) [nitro] and Bill Brandt (1972 Notre Dame) [FE]

-2016: Dave Brandt (1978 Squire Shop) and Rob Brackett (2011 Valken Sports) [FE]

-2015: Kirk Maupin (1977 Squire) [nitro] and David Newton (2012 Spirit of Qatar) [FE]

-2014: Adam Putich (2007 Miss Beacon Plumbing) and (no FE)

-2013: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)


Prior to 2013, no FE class held

-2012: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2011: Kirk Maupin (1977 Miss Esquire Products)

-2010: Kirk Maupin (1975 Atlas Van Lines)

-2009: Dave Brandt (1999 Pico American Dream)

-2008: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2007: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2006: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2005: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)
-2004: Dave Brandt (1995 Pico American Dream)

-2003: Bill Brandt (1997 Close Call)

-2002: Lee Robertson (1978 Squire Shop)

-2001: Don Mock (1984 Atlas Van Lines)

-2000: Harry Gatjens (1994 Miss Budweiser)

-1999: Jesse Robertson (1989 Miss Circus Circus)

-1998: Lee Robertson (1995 Pico American Dream)

-1997: Don Mock (1984 Atlas Van Lines)

-1996: Lee Robertson (1989 Miss Circus Circus)

-1995: Dave Blacksten (1988 Mr. Pringle's)

-1994: Steve DeSteese (1984 Miss Renault)

-1993: Tory McIntire (1989 Winston Eagle)

-1992: Ron Davis (1984 Competition Specialties)

-1991: David Jensen (1969 Pride of Pay 'N Pak)

-1990: Paul Dunlap (1982 Executone)

-1989: David Jensen (1969 Pride of Pay 'N Pak)

-1988: David Jensen (1969 Pride of Pay 'N Pak)

-1987: Howard Price
-1986: Bill Smiley (1980 Pay 'N Pak)

-1985: Gale Whitestine 

-1984: David Jensen (1982 Gilmore Special)

-1983: Jack Haugen (1957 Thriftway Too)

-1982: David Jensen (1977 Natural Light)

-1981: Jack Haugen (1957 Thriftway Too)

-1980: Les Ruggles (1969 Notre Dame)

-1979: Les Ruggles (Miss Supertest III)

-1978: Les Ruggles (Miss Supertest III)
-1977: Bill Smiley (Pay 'N Pak)
-1976: Les Ruggles (Maverick)