top of page

Apple Cup

Facebook photo album available HERE

Videos of the racing available on Nitro, Fast Electric, and Gas Screaming Eagles Marine Racing page HERE

The Meyers Autotech Championship Series Powered by Rattlesnake RC returned to Lake Tye in Monroe, WA, for the penultimate race weekend of 2023 to race for the Apple Cup. With tight points standings about, it was a critical weekend for nearly 50 boats to try and make a run in the standings. Contrary to last year, the skies dawned clear and warm; absent was the smoke-filled 2022. The Monroe Parks Department once again played great hosts, and we enjoyed entertaining all the local communities with some great scale racing.

1/10th Scale Electric Final

1st: 1962 $ Bill, Geoffry Grembowski

2nd (DNF): 2023 Griggs Present Miss Ace Hardware, Aidyn Brandt

3rd (DNF): 1988 Sutphen Spirit, Briana Burdsall

4th (DNF): 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Brady Putich

5th (DSQ): 1974 Miss U.S., Brooklyn Kinney

The final turned a bit chaotic, and perhaps that was a sign of things to come. The only boat left running was Geoffry Grembowski and the only vintage boat with the $ Bill, who took the victory. This was a fitting victory to legendary boat-builder Craig Bradshaw, who recently passed away, as the $ Bill was his first boat. RIP Craig.

Gas Scale Consolation

Video available HERE

1st: 1983 American Speedy Printing, Bill Brandt

2nd (DNF): 1977 Charlie's Girl, Mike Henriksen

3rd (DNF): 1980 Candyman, Donn Lange

4th (DNS): 1974 Lincoln Thrift, Dave Englehart

The Speedy was the only boat left, and Bill Brandt graciously took this opportunity to advance to the final as a trailer.

Gas Scale Final

1st: 1978 Miss Mark and Pak, Jim Whyte

2nd: 1983 Miss Houston, Henry Oord

3rd: 2014 Graham Trucking, Jeff Snell

4th (DNF): 1986 Boat, Paxton Reunanen

5th (DNF): 1983 American Speedy Printing, Bill Brandt

6th (DNS): 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Dave Brandt

The anticipated matchup between the top 2 in the points standings (Jim Whyte and Dave Brandt) never materialized, as the Miss Rock failed to start due to a carburetor issue. That being said, Jim had to make a good start and run a smart race, with challengers from Henry Oord and Jeff Snell not far behind. It was Jim's third race win of the year, and second in a row.

1/8th Scale Electric (FE) Consolation

1st: 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Brittain

2nd: 1973 Miss Budweiser, Bobby Colean

3rd: 1989 Miss Circus Circus, Steve Roman

4th: 1982 Pay'n Pak, Bob Hulliger

5th: 2000 Znetix, Donn Lange

6th: 1975 Pay'n Pak, Wayne Beeson

This was a rare FE heat with all 6 boats finishing. The Miss Budweiser had decent speed, but never could get around the Oberto with Jim, who moved up to the final.

1/8th Scale Electric (FE) Final

1st: 1985 Miller American, Don Mock

2nd: 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Brittain

3rd: 1983 Miss Houston, Henry Oord

4th: 1983 KISW Miss Rock, Rich Matkin

5th: 1977 Miss Esquire Products, Bill Brandt

6th (DNF): 1994 Miss Budweiser (T-2), Paxton Reunanen

7th (DNF): 1984 Team Velocity, Conner Henriksen

For the second race in a row, the Miss Budweiser was challenging for or in the lead when the boat hooked, spun, and flipped over. Don Mock was the lucky recipient of the misfortune for the second race in a row, and he collected his third victory of the year.

1/8th Scale Nitro Consolation

1st: 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Brittain

2nd: 1979 Miss Circus Circus, Geoffry Grembowski

3rd: 1971 Pride of Pay'n Pak, Brent Edinger

4th: 1978 Squire Shop (U-64), Aidyn Brandt

5th: 1974 Miss U.S., Steve Kinney

6th: 2011 Lakeridge Paving, Gary Grembowski


Jim Brittain made it 2-for-2 in consolation heats, stealing lane 1 in the mill from the Circus and using it to his advantage and taking the victory.


1/8th Scale Nitro Final

Video available HERE 

1st: 1976 Miss Vernor's, Kirk Maupin

2nd: 2007 Miss Beacon Plumbing, Adam Putich

3rd: (DNF): 1974 Red Man, Paul Jackson

4th (DNF): 1982 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Brittain

5th (DNF): 1978 Squire Shop, Dave Brandt

6th (DNF): 2016 Oh Boy! Oberto, Jim Putich

7th (DNF): 1988 Miss Stroh's Light, Scott Meyers

This was one of the most chaotic finals may could remember. The Beacon Plumbing hit a buoy in the run to the starting line, earning a penalty. First to go over was the Miss Stroh's Light, followed by the 2016 Oberto. The Squire Shop hit a hole and spun, and the 1982 Oberto spun and flipped shortly thereafter in avoidance. The Red Man was all of a sudden in the lead witha  chance to make it 2-in-a-row in 2023, but then it went over as well. The Miss Vernor's was not running that well, but all of a sudden Kirk was the last one running on the lead lap. On the final turn, the boat came dangerously close to a buoy, and the buoy appeared to move! The turn judge ruled that the boat did not hit the buoy (the spray from the boat did), therefore Kirk was legal and took his fourth victory of the year, albeit in the strangest of circumstances.


September 9-10

Location: Lake Tye Park, Monroe, WA


Contest Director: Beau Rarig

Previous Race Winners:

Race held in Lake Tye Park, Monroe, WA 2021-Present

Race held in Yakima, WA 1976, 1978, 1992-1994

Race held in Portland, OR 1979-1984

Race held in Kent, WA 1977

Current-2020: winner shown as nitro // FE // gas

-2023: Kirk Maupin (1976 Miss Vernor's) // Don Mock (1985 Miller American) // Jim Whyte (1978 Miss Mark and Pak)

-2022: Dave Brandt (1978 U-65 Squire Shop) // Don Mock (1986 Miller American) // Dave Brandt (1983 KISW Miss Rock) 

-2021: Dave Brandt (1978 U-65 Squire Shop) // Paxton Reunanen (1983 KISW Miss Rock) // John Olson (1971 Country Boy) 

Prior to 2013, only nitro class run

-1994: Dave Blacksten, 1985 Miss 7-Eleven

-1993: Roger Newton, 1993 Miss Budweiser

-1992: Terry Olding, 1984 Miss Tosti Asti

-1984: Dick Ness, Miss Budweiser

-1983: Race not held

-1982: Jack Haugen, Thriftway Too

-1981: Steve Benson, Miss Vernors

-1980: Dallas Cook, Pay'N Save

-1979: Les Ruggles, Miss Supertest III

-1978: Les Ruggles, Miss Supertest III

-1977: Ron Erickson, Spirit of Dayton Walther

-1976: Les Ruggles, Maverick



bottom of page